OPEN LETTER TO SENATOR JOHN MCCAIN

A Clicia me pediu pra divulgar essa carta escrita por ela. Fiquem à vontade de passarem adiante – obrigada! E OBAMA LÁ! JÁ!

OPEN LETTER TO SENATOR JOHN MCCAIN FROM A CONCERNED MOM AND VOTER IN NEW HAMPSHIRE.

 

Dear Senator McCain:

My name is Clicia Tremblay and I am a very concerned about the direction in which our country is headed politically, socially and economically. I am an ordinary citizen, a stay-at-home mom, living in New Hampshire with my husband and two 2 small daughters. I am a very engaged voter who has been following the presidential campaign with a lot of interest, trying to keep an open mind to both campaigns.  I consider myself a rather informed voter, who tries to learn different facets of arguments and issues.

 I used to be a journalist, have worked in finance, in the foreign service and with the military. I have lived in the Washington-DC-area for over 20 years before moving to New Hampshire, so I believe that I have a pretty good understanding of complex matters. Furthermore, having had my children later in life and having been home with them for the past 6 years, have deepen my commitment to making, not only our country, but also the world a better, safer and happier place for all children.

Having said all that, I must tell you that I cannot vote for you, Senator McCain. I will not vote for you and have been very disappointed and concerned with your actions lately in your quest for the presidency. I feel downright scared at the moment.

 You did not use to scare Senator McCain, not your politics anyway. I feel strongly that the 2000 elections robbed you and Mr. Gore the chance for the Presidency of our great nation. At first I was happy that you got the Republican nomination.  Out of all of the candidates, I thought that you were a more moderate choice. However, all of that changed in these last few weeks.

I really don’t appreciate or approve the negative campaign
waged by the Mccain campaign. Personal attacks tend to turn off voters and leave a bitter taste on everyone’s mouth. The tone and approach of your campaign lately has left me to wonder who the real McCain is: the voice of sanity and rigor or this out-of-control babbler who displays bad manners at a debate and fails to show sportsmanship towards a fellow colleague. Your behavior saddens me, Senator McCain, for  I had higher expectations for you. I expected a more dignified behavior from you, given your long-standing position in the Senate and your understanding of our to behave in public before the world. You are a role model to so many young people. Thus, your rude and patronizing attitude toward Senator was downright disgusting, when he referred to Senator Obama as “that one” and acted so angry as you paced around the room. Really, was that truly necessary? Is this a becoming behavior for a Presidential contender to use such vulgar and common-place phrase? What are we telling all of those young people, who might want to join the Navy or run for a political office some day? It is ok to behave beneath your dignity? Where is your soul?

I can understand how strongly your feel about his beliefs, however I view them, and intentions plus that you want to please your constituents. A strong leader must show self-control and restraint when the situation calls for it, plus a dignified manner towards others and show that he/she can inspire and build bridges. I do not feel that you can do this.

The fact that we have an old man, a woman and mixed-race candidate running in itself tells how great this country is, how wonderful is to see democracy at work and how inspiring for our youth- underprivileged or not- that they too can achieve the American Dream.
Thus, for Senator McCain not show respect for a fellow Senator who happens to be younger and of a different color from him, shows clearly the reason that a lot of voters like myself and people around me feel that change must come about, that it is this superiority complex, this self-righteousness that a lot of members of the Republican Party, this condescending attitude towards us, the people, that isolate you from us.
So, I really hope that your campaign rethinks its strategy and start focusing on issues that affect deeply people like myself: the economy, the dissatisfaction with the war, the rising cost of our standard of living, educational programs that get cut or not offered to kids in public schools due to budget constraints, job losses and so forth.
Quite honestly, I think that to use Obama’s friendship with Bill Ayers is a distraction, an attempt on your end to shift focus from the real message to voters. This comes straight out of, what I call, the Lee Atwater/Karl Rove School of Misinformation and Public Manipulation handbook. We have had enough of both. While Mr. Ayers’ actions of the past are regretful; I also think that
today he seems like an upstanding citizen of his community. Are we supposed to isolate people who have made mistakes? What is next, a domestic Guantanomo? Are we supposed to now do a background check on our personal relations and if so, how do we decide with whom to proceed, and whom to cut loose- petty crime and misdemeanors, white-color crime, heavy crime, dirty thoughts, allegations…what? Furthermore, Senator Obama was 8-years-old when the Weather
Underground was active. Who among us can truly say that they none of our friends/family/business associates/acquaintances have never ever made a mistake or broken the law in any way, shape of form? Are we that sheltered?

Meanwhile, people in my neighborhood are suffering- losing their houses and jobs, kids are quitting school, we are getting more and more into debt, we can’t afford to offer extra-curricular activities to our kids so they can be more well-rounded. And why is that and what
do you plan to do about it? So, instead of showing me videos of what Mr. Ayers did or did not do, pl show me videos of how you plan to implement your plans, why your recovery plan for our housing crisis might work, why should I trust you and why should you be in charge of my future and my children’s future.
I did ask myself very hard questions about this election and about candidates running who promise so much that I was waiting for someone to offer to bring me the moon!! But what can you really deliver and why should I believe you when so many other politicians have let me
down.

So please, concentrate on how we can improve our country and not divide it with more negative ads and rhetoric. I want to see the future and not the past.
In order to do character assassination, one must first have a character, and the way your campaign is heading and they way have been behaving lately. Please, do not make me doubt yours.

 

 Thank for your time”.

Clicia Tremblay
New Hampshire

0 Responses to “OPEN LETTER TO SENATOR JOHN MCCAIN”



  1. Deixe um comentário

Deixe um comentário

TWITTER – O ANDA ACONTECENDO NO MEU ATELIE?

Erro: o Twitter não respondeu. Por favor, aguarde alguns minutos e atualize esta página.

E HOJE É DIA…

outubro 2008
S T Q Q S S D
« set   nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

QUEM ANDA COMENTANDO NO TQG:

bellavida em Eu era feliz e sabia : )
Odila Nunes em Eu era feliz e sabia : )
lovetz.org em Calcinha Exocet
Carla Cristina. em Maria sem vergonha!
Sandra mendonça em Crocs upgrade!

O QUE MAIS CLICAM NO TQG!

  • Nenhum

TQG STATS:

  • 230,264 já clicaram aqui desde abril de 2007!

TQG POR MÊS/ANO!

CATEGORIAS TQG:


